Join or Sign In

Sign in to customize your TV listings

Continue with Facebook Continue with email

By joining TV Guide, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy.

Emmys 2019: How to Watch, Who's Nominated, And Everything Else to Know

Here's how to watch TV's biggest night

Amanda Bell

The 71st Primetime Emmy Awards take place Sunday, Sept. 22, starting at 8 p.m. ET. But although the show hasn't officially taken place yet, there have already been gobs of 2019 Emmy winners announced in the creative arts and technical categories. Based on the list of nominees for the Emmy Awards, the big show is bound to be an entertaining and talked-about event.

Sure, Game of Thrones is probably set to lay one last claim to the proverbial Iron Throne and walk away with a lot of trophies from its record-setting deluge of nominations -- yes, probably even for the categories fans had the most issues with during Season 8 -- but there are also plenty of deserving shows to watch out for after they landed their first Emmy nominations, like Fleabag, Pose, and Schitt's Creek.

Meanwhile, Television Academy favorites like Barry, Better Call Saul (even if Rhea Seehorn got robbed), This Is Us, and Veepwill also be well represented in multiple categories, and a few strong freshman series made the cut, like Russian Doll and Dead to Me. Overall, this year's crop of nominees delivered some mostly pleasant surprises, capping off a stellar year in TV.

Emmys 2019: Complete Coverage of the 71st Primetime Emmy Awards

Here's what we know so far about the 71st Primetime Emmy Awards.

When Are the Emmys?

This year's Emmys will air live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on Sunday, Sept. 22 starting at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on Fox.

What Channel Are the Emmys on This Year?

This year's Emmys broadcast is scheduled to run for three hours on Fox stations around the country.

How to Watch the Emmys?

In addition to the over-the-air broadcast, those with cable subscriptions can also tune in via Fox.com or the FOX NOW app. The Emmys website will also host a backstage live stream of the behind-the-scenes events during the broadcast.

When Does the Emmys Red Carpet Start?

Fox's Live Emmy Red Carpet Pre-Show will be hosted by Jenny McCarthy, Shannon Sharpe, and Kelly Osbourne and will begin at 6:30 p.m. ET, with red carpet arrivals beginning at 7 p.m. ET. Meanwhile, E!'s Countdown to the Red Carpet will begin at 4:30 p.m. ET, followed by Live from the Red Carpet at 6 p.m. ET on E! People and Entertainment Weekly will also host the Emmys digital pre-show beginning at 6 p.m. ET on PeopleTV, People.com, and EW.com.

Emmys 2019: See the List of Nominees

Who Won the Emmys 2019?

Full winners for the 2019 Emmys will be announced Sunday night, but numerous Emmy Awards have already been handed out at the Creative Arts Emmys, which took place last weekend, on Sept. 14 and Sept. 15. In addition to the Creative Arts Emmys, the juried winners for the 71st Primetime Emmy Awards have already been announced in several categories, including animation, choreography, interactive media, and motion design.

What Are the Creative Arts Emmys?

Great question. Ahead of the main Emmys show, the Creative Arts Emmys award winners in a copious amount of small categories, including guest actor and actress in both comedy and drama. Head here for the full list of winners.

On night one, presenters included Roy Choi and Jon Favreau, Jeff Goldblum, Diane Guerrero, Marie Kondo, Lisa Kudrow, Sig Hansen, Derek Hough, Wanda Sykes, Will Arnett, Marsha Stephanie Blake, W. Kamau Bell, Kate Chastain, Terry Crews, Seth Green, Mandy Hansen, Carrie Ann Inaba, Nick Kroll, Lee Rosbach, Nicole Scherzinger, Julio Torres, Robin Thede, and Necar Zadegan.

Night two presenters featured a reunion of the In Living Color cast (including Keenen Ivory Wayans, Shawn Wayans, David Alan Grier, and Tommy Davidson), as well as Alfie Allen, Charlie Barnett, Rachel Bloom, Ron Cephas Jones, Rob Corddry, Laverne Cox, Lisa Edelstein, Anna Konkle, Maya Erskine, Chris O'Dowd, Ryan O'Connell, Wendell Pierce, Marcus Scribner, Michaela Watkins, Maude Apatow, Ryan Michelle Bathe, Rocky Carroll, Ryan Eggold, Jared Harris, Neil Patrick Harris, Natasha Lyonne, Peter MacNicol, Shameik Moore, Olivia Munn, Patton Oswalt, Nico Santos, Jane Seymour, Maggie Siff, Sydney Sweeney, Jonathan Tucker, and Carice van Houten.

FXX will broadcast the Creative Arts Emmys on Saturday, Sept. 21 at 8/7c.

Who Is Hosting the Emmys?

Nobody! Following this year's host-free Academy Awards, Fox President Charlie Collier announced the Emmys will also opt out of having a host this year. It will mark just the fourth time the show has gone on without a central host, after 1975, 1998, and 2003. Even without a host, fans can still count on things to start with an opening number in keeping with the show's tradition.

While announcing the network's decision to go host-free, Collier mentioned that Fox wants to "honor" some of the year's major outgoing series, including Game of Thrones, Veep, The Big Bang Theory, and Fox's own Empire.

Who Is Presenting at the Emmys?

All of the Game of Thronesstars who've been nominated for their work in the series' final season -- Emilia Clarke, Kit Harington, Lena Headey, Peter Dinklage, Sophie Turner, Maisie Williams, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Gwendoline Christie, Alfie Allen, and Carice van Houten -- will unite to present at the 2019 Emmys. Additional nominees who are slated to present include Angela Bassett, Viola Davis, Michael Douglas, Billy Porter, Stephen Colbert, Jimmy Kimmel, Seth Meyers, Taraji P. Henson, Terrence Howard, Peter Krause, Zendaya, and Naomi Watts.

Heading into Emmys weekend, the Television Academy announced even more big names who will either present at the ceremony or participate in another form: Tim Allen, Nick Cannon, James Corden, Adam Devine, Halsey, Jon Hamm, Timothy Hutton, Jharrel Jerome, Ken Jeong, Cherry Jones, Regina King, Luke Kirby, Hugh Laurie, Thomas Lennon, Jane Lynch, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Catherine O'Hara, Randall Park, Jimmy Smits, Brittany Snow, Marisa Tomei, Kerry Washington, and Bradley Whitford.

The 71st Primetime Emmy Awards will air live on Sunday, Sept. 22 starting at 8/7c on Fox.

Gabriel Olsen