Join or Sign In

Sign in to customize your TV listings

Continue with Facebook Continue with email

By joining TV Guide, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy.

Game of Thrones: Here's Who Rules the Six Kingdoms of Westeros

What's left of them, anyway

Megan Vick

[Warning: The following contains spoilers for "The Iron Throne," the series finale of Game of Thrones, read at your own risk!]

Game of Thrones may be over, but at least part of Westeros is still standing. Bran (Isaac Hempstead Wright) ended up on the Iron Throne (sort of), but what about the rest of the seven kingdoms? At the end of the series, with King's Landing in ash, Bran is now helping to rebuild the land that was with the help of a few key friends.

Before finding out his own fate, Tyrion (Peter Dinklage) proposed that a council of Westeros' Lords and Ladies be responsible for electing every future king or queen, thus preventing entitled heirs from waging war over who should get to sit on the throne. It's not quite democracy, and that concept was even laughed at, but it's still an improvement over the former system. Here is who gets to choose the kings and queens of the six* kingdoms Westeros going forward.

Discover your new favorite show: Watch This Now!

Samwell Tarly (The Reach): Sam (John Bradley) also took a seat on the king's small council at the end of the episode, but first he took over as the head of the Tarly house and helped make Bran the first elected king of Westeros. He was joined by Ser Bronn of the Blackwater (Jerome Flynn), who is now sitting in for Highgarden, the very castle he was promised by the Lannister brothers.

Edmure Tully (Isles and Rivers): Edmure (Tobias Menzies) lives! After being MIA for a long, long time, the Stark kids' formerly imprisoned uncle showed up on the council as head of House Tully, representing the Isles and Rivers kingdom.

Robin Arryn (The Vale): Former breastfeeding enthusiast Robin Arryn (Lino Facioli) is now all grown-up and represents The Vale alongside his long-suffering bannerman Yohn Royce (Rupert Vansittart), the Lord of Runestone.

Yara Greyjoy (Iron Islands): With Euron (Pilou Asabaek) and Theon (Alfie Allen) dead, Yara Greyjoy (Gemma Whelan) took her seat as the leader of the ironborn and the Iron Islands.

Gendry Baratheon (Stormlands): Gendry Baratheon (Joseph Dempsie) only got his title as the Lord of Storm's End a short while ago, but he stepped up to speak for the Stormlands and also voted for Bran to be king.

Prince of Dorne (Dorne): Surprise! There's someone ruling Dorne after all! The unnamed prince of Dorne showed up at the council in the Dragonpit to help elect Bran as ruler.

*Sansa Stark (The North): Sansa Stark (Sophie Turner) rules over the North, but at the council, she insisted that The North would be an independent kingdom from Westeros, leaving the remaining kingdoms at six and allowing for her own coronation as the Queen in the North.

Game of Thones is available via HBO Go, or through add-on on Amazon or Hulu.

PHOTOS: Game of Thrones Season 8, Episode 6: "The Iron Throne"

​Sansa Stark (Sophie Turner) in Game of Thrones Season 8, Episode 6: "The Iron Throne"

Sansa Stark (Sophie Turner) in Game of Thrones Season 8, Episode 6: "The Iron Throne"