Join or Sign In

Sign in to customize your TV listings

Continue with Facebook Continue with email

By joining TV Guide, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy.

Political Animals Season 1 Episodes

Season 1 Episode Guide

Season 1

6 Episodes 2012 - 2012

This six-part mini-series follows the personal and political dealings of former first lady Elaine Barrish (Sigourney Weaver), who's currently serving as secretary of state. Barrish's life and the life of her family is on full display. While dealing with overseas crises and manipulative colleagues, Barrish must also contend with her ex-husband's (Ciarán Hinds) exploits and her twin sons' (James Wolk, Sebastian Stan) own political careers and scandals. She juggles all of this while deflecting questions from journalist Susan Berg (Carla Gugino) and preparing for her own bid for the Oval Office.

Episode 1


Sun, Jul 15, 2012 82 mins

Drama focusing on the political and private lives of former first family members. In the opener, the Secretary of State tries to protect a dark family secret and deals with a hostage crisis in Iran.

Where to Watch
Political Animals, Season 1 Episode 1 image

Episode 2

Second Time Around

Sun, Jul 22, 2012 60 mins

Elaine sends Bud to negotiate for the Iranian hostages, putting him back in the spotlight and interfering with Douglas' engagement party. Elsewhere, Douglas finds out Elaine plans to run for office again; T.J. turns back to old habits and hits a new low.

Where to Watch
Political Animals, Season 1 Episode 2 image

Episode 3

The Woman Problem

Sun, Jul 29, 2012 60 mins

Elaine makes an announcement to her family; the Hammond men visit a pollster during an impromptu fishing trip; Garcetti enacts a plan that puts Elaine in conflict with her longtime mentor; and Susan shares her top-secret story with Alex.

Where to Watch
Political Animals, Season 1 Episode 3 image

Episode 4

Lost Boys

Sun, Aug 5, 2012 60 mins

Elaine faces a diplomatic crisis upon her return from overseas and spars with the Garcetti camp. Elsewhere, T.J. recalls the events leading up to his suicide attempt and deals with his family's disinterest in his club's opening; Anne reveals too much; and Douglas struggles to cope with his betrayal.

Where to Watch
Political Animals, Season 1 Episode 4 image

Episode 5

16 Hours

Sun, Aug 12, 2012 60 mins

Elaine feels torn between tending to T.J. and a rescue mission for a Chinese submarine; Bud takes action after learning the truth behind T.J.'s attempted suicide; and Elaine allows Susan unlimited access to the submarine rescue mission in exchange for Susan's discretion about T.J.'s overdose, but the deal puts Bud's future in peril.

Where to Watch
Political Animals, Season 1 Episode 5 image

Episode 6

Resignation Day

Sun, Aug 19, 2012 60 mins

In the Season 1 finale, Elaine's plan to resign hits a snag and her resignation letter leaks to the press. Elsewhere, Douglas confesses his betrayal and makes a rash decision; and a surprising event leaves everyone at a crossroads.

Where to Watch
Political Animals, Season 1 Episode 6 image