X

Join or Sign In

Sign in to customize your TV listings

Continue with Facebook Continue with email

By joining TV Guide, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy.

Growing a Greener World Season 3 Episodes

26 Episodes 2012 - 2012

Episode 1

Winter Gardening (Harborside, ME)

Sat, Jul 7, 2012 27 mins

The Season 3 premiere discusses how to grow vegetables throughout the year during a visit with Maine gardening expert Eliot Coleman.

Where to Watch

Episode 2

The Dirt on Creating a Healthy Garden (Raleigh, NC)

Sat, Jul 14, 2012 27 mins

The importance of soil is discussed. Included: a soil-testing lab; the U.S. Composting Council.

Where to Watch

Episode 3

Sow True Seed: (Ashville, NC)

Sat, Jul 21, 2012 27 mins

How to save seeds and preserve the integrity of organic seed stock.

Where to Watch

Episode 4

Farm School: Learning to be Organic Farmers

Sat, Jul 28, 2012 27 mins

A week at an organic farm school.

Where to Watch

Episode 5

Organic Lawn Care (Arlington, VA)

Sat, Aug 4, 2012 27 mins

How to have a lush green lawn.

Where to Watch

Episode 6

Polyface Farms

Sat, Aug 11, 2012 27 mins

A visit to Polyface Farms in Virginia's Shenandoah Valley, which practices sustainable agriculture.

Where to Watch

Episode 7

Backyard Composting (Winston-Salem, NC)

Sat, Aug 18, 2012 27 mins

How to make compost.

Where to Watch

Episode 8

Veteran Farmers

Sat, Aug 25, 2012 27 mins

Veterans who are taking up organic farming.

Where to Watch

Episode 9

Schoolyard Wildlife Habitats (Atlanta, GA)

Sat, Sep 1, 2012 27 mins

An Atlanta school that uses outdoor classrooms to teach students about nature and the environment. Also: creating a wildlife habitat in one's backyard.

Where to Watch

Episode 10

Regenerating Detroit Through Urban Gardening (Detroit, MI)

Sat, Sep 8, 2012 27 mins

A look at urban gardens in Detroit.

Where to Watch

Episode 11

Backyard Chickens (Raleigh, NC)

Sat, Sep 15, 2012 27 mins

How to raise chickens in a backyard. Included: selecting and caring for chicks; housing chickens.

Where to Watch

Episode 12

Young Farmers (Atlanta, GA)

Sat, Sep 22, 2012 27 mins

A look at young farmers who are environmental stewards.

Where to Watch

Episode 13

Beyond Veggies: Adding Fruit to Your Food Garden (St. Louis, MO)

Sat, Sep 29, 2012 27 mins

How to create a backyard orchard.

Where to Watch

Episode 14

Just Because It's Organic (St. Paul, MN)

Sat, Oct 6, 2012 27 mins

Horticultural-science expert Jeff Gillman on becoming a discerning gardener.

Where to Watch

Episode 15

All About Seeds (Mt. Airy, NC)

Sat, Oct 13, 2012 27 mins

Seed-sowing secrets are shared.

Where to Watch

Episode 16

Heritage Breeds (Pittsboro, NC and Potomac, MD)

Sat, Oct 20, 2012 27 mins

Heritage farm animals are discussed. Included: why some livestock fell out of favor.

Where to Watch

Episode 17

Garden Coaching (Atlanta, GA)

Sat, Oct 27, 2012 27 mins

Personal garden coaches are highlighted.

Where to Watch

Episode 18

The 50-Mile Bouquet: Why Local Matters with Flowers, Too (Skagit Valley, WA)

Sat, Nov 3, 2012 27 mins

Growing organic flowers is discussed.

Where to Watch

Episode 19

Moss Gardens (Raleigh, NC)

Sat, Nov 10, 2012 27 mins

The benefits of moss. Also: making a miniature tabletop landscape.

Where to Watch

Episode 20

Behind the Scenes of a Flower Show (Seattle, WA)

Sat, Nov 17, 2012 27 mins

How display gardens at flower shows are created.

Where to Watch

Episode 21

Beyond Organic Gardening: The Principles of Permaculture (Raleigh, NC and Americus, GA)

Sat, Nov 24, 2012 27 mins

An explanation of permaculture, which incorporates organic farm practices, agroforestry, integrated farming and ecology.

Where to Watch

Episode 22

Rooftop Farm, Brooklyn, NY

Sat, Dec 1, 2012 27 mins

A one-acre rooftop farm in New York City is highlighted.

Where to Watch

Episode 23

Small Space & Vertical Gardening (San Francisco, CA)

Sat, Dec 8, 2012 27 mins

A look at small-space gardening, including vertical gardening.

Where to Watch

Episode 24

Independent Garden Centers: Atlanta, GA

Sat, Dec 15, 2012 27 mins

Independent garden centers are discussed.

Where to Watch

Episode 25

Sol Mobile Bus (Various Cities Across America)

Sat, Dec 22, 2012 27 mins

Gardeners who teach about sustainable edible gardening while traveling the country in a biodiesel bus.

Where to Watch

Episode 26

Behind the Scenes With GGW: Atlanta, GA

Sat, Dec 29, 2012 27 mins

The Season 3 finale shows how "Growing a Greener World" is put together, including how topics and locations are chosen.

Where to Watch