Join or Sign In

Sign in to customize your TV listings

Continue with Facebook Continue with email

By joining TV Guide, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy.

Whispering Smith Season 1 Episodes

Season 1 Episode Guide

Season 1

26 Episodes 1961 - 1961

Episode 1

The Blind Gun

Mon, May 8, 1961 30 mins

Smith convinces a blinded bank robber to lead him to the location where the bandit hid his loot in exchange for arranging for an operation to restore his sight.

Where to Watch

Episode 2

The Grudge

Mon, May 15, 1961 30 mins

Ma Gates and her brood come to Denver to avenge themselves upon Smith for killing her husband and their father when Smith tried to arrest the gunman 10 years earlier.

Where to Watch

Episode 3

The Devil's Share

Mon, May 22, 1961 30 mins

Jeff Whalen murders his brother, upon learning that Frank has become engaged to his former girlfriend.

Where to Watch

Episode 4


Mon, May 29, 1961 30 mins

Where to Watch

Episode 5

Safety Valve

Mon, Jun 5, 1961 30 mins

Smith and Romack go undercover for the Army to investigate the deaths of three young officers who were shot in the head during Indian attacks.

Where to Watch

Episode 6

Stain of Justice

Mon, Jun 12, 1961 30 mins

A young man who just announced his engagement is accused of murdering a gold-digging woman and refuses to participate in his own defense.

Where to Watch

Episode 7

The Deadliest Weapon

Mon, Jun 19, 1961 30 mins

After receiving a note threatening his life, Ralph Miller requests protection from the Denver Police Department, but the two assigned detectives fail to prevent him from sipping a poisoned drink.

Where to Watch

Episode 8

The Quest

Mon, Jun 26, 1961 30 mins

A young woman arrives in Denver searching for her mother, a former Mississippi riverboat entertainer, who sent her to live with a cousin fifteen years earlier.

Where to Watch

Episode 9

Three for One

Mon, Jul 3, 1961 30 mins

The Denver police force discovers two hours too late that they've released a murderous bank robber into the hands of his confederates rather than Phoenix deputies as they thought.

Where to Watch

Episode 10

Death at Even Money

Mon, Jul 10, 1961 30 mins

A gambler on a long losing streak tries to recoup by betting that Smith will not live another 48 hours. Rival gamblers hire gunmen to kill or protect Smith.

Where to Watch

Episode 11

The Hemp Reeger Case

Mon, Jul 17, 1961 30 mins

Smith captures a jail-breaking outlaw near the Wyoming border and asks a small-town sheriff to board the criminal overnight. Smith plans to set off with his prisoner for Denver in the morning, but the lawman has other plans for his temporary prison.

Where to Watch

Episode 12

The Mortal Coil

Mon, Jul 24, 1961 30 mins

Smith suspects an influential businessman of murdering his brother when he announces he has an iron-clad alibi without being asked.

Where to Watch

Episode 13

Cross Cut

Mon, Jul 31, 1961 30 mins

Smitty becomes suspicious when a woman claims to have shot an alleged mugger who is found wearing a distinctive ring but didn't have a mark on his finger showing he wore it for any length of time.

Where to Watch

Episode 14

Double Edge

Mon, Aug 7, 1961 30 mins

While pursuing an outlaw gang, Smith rides up to an abandoned house, hears a shot, and sees a body come crashing through a second-story window.

Where to Watch

Episode 15


Mon, Aug 14, 1961 30 mins

Three men are found murdered on consecutive nights with the killer following the same modus operandi - the victims were all shot between the eyes, and the third button on their vest was removed.

Where to Watch

Episode 16

The Jodie Tyler Story

Mon, Aug 21, 1961 30 mins

A stagecoach is held up and a passenger onboard is killed for $5,000.

Where to Watch

Episode 17

Poet and Peasant Cast

Mon, Aug 28, 1961 30 mins

An English lord who is also a noted poet is hired to recite his poetry at the Denver Opera House as a benefit for the widows and orphans of miners killed in a recent mine disaster.

Where to Watch

Episode 18

Dark Circle

Mon, Sep 4, 1961 30 mins

An alcoholic lawyer who threatened the owner of a casino the night before is framed for his foe's murder.

Where to Watch

Episode 19

Swift Justice

Mon, Sep 11, 1961 30 mins

A match race between two feuding family's prize horses ends in tragedy when one of the jockeys is shot from the saddle by an unknown assailant.

Where to Watch

Episode 20

The Idol

Mon, Sep 18, 1961 30 mins

A mining engineer is found stabbed in the back outside his partner's saloon.

Where to Watch

Episode 21

String of Circumstances

Mon, Sep 25, 1961 30 mins

Smith and Romack investigate a series of bombings that rock Denver.

Where to Watch

Episode 22

The Interpreter

Mon, Oct 2, 1961 30 mins

Where to Watch

Episode 23

The Homeless Wind

Mon, Oct 9, 1961 30 mins

Smith captures Sam Chandler, a fugitive near the Mexican border. His plans to return him to Denver where he is wanted for murder are dashed when the two men are captured by Mexican bandits who only keep them alive to serve as personal slaves.

Where to Watch

Episode 24

Trial of the Avengers

Mon, Oct 16, 1961 30 mins

Smith and Romack investigate a violent death that might be murder and deal with a gang of ex-convicts who have suddenly descended on Denver.

Where to Watch

Episode 25

Prayer of a Chance

Mon, Oct 23, 1961 30 mins

Two outlaws steal a valuable jeweled statue from a Catholic church, but the parish priest refuses to give Smith a description of the villains unless he agrees to pursue them unarmed.

Where to Watch

Episode 26

Hired to Die

Mon, Oct 30, 1961 30 mins

A not-so-devoted husband hires a Kansas City killer to travel to Denver to murder his wife.

Where to Watch