Join or Sign In

Sign in to customize your TV listings

Continue with Facebook Continue with email

By joining TV Guide, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy.

Salem Season 1 Episodes

Season 1 Episode Guide

13 Episodes 2014 - 2014

The world of the Salem witch trials is explored in this supernatural drama set in 17th-century Massachusetts. Season 1 opens in 1685 with Capt. John Alden (Shane West) returning from war to discover that his Puritan community has become gripped with mass hysteria and that his former lover Mary (Janet Montgomery) is now married to the wealthy village elder George Sibley (Michael Mulheren). What he doesn't know is that when he left seven years ago, Mary, pregnant with his child, turned to Tituba (Ashley Madekwe), a skilled practitioner of the magical arts, to rid her of the unborn baby. In the time that followed, Mary has become the most powerful witch in Salem and is using panic and paranoia to her advantage, while fending off threats of being deposed by Magistrate Hale (Xander Berkeley). But her lingering feelings for John put them both at risk as he enters into an alliance with Rev. Cotton Mather (Seth Gabel), who, when he isn't engaging in activities of ill repute, has been defending the people of town against witchcraft. Also starring Tamzin Merchant, Elise Eberle and Stephen Lang.

Episode 1

The Vow

Sun, Apr 20, 2014 66 mins

John Alden returns from war to discover that the woman he left behind is now married to another man and that his hometown of Salem, Mass., is in the midst of a witch panic in the premiere of this supernatural drama.

Where to Watch

Episode 2

The Stone Child

Sun, Apr 27, 2014 60 mins

John investigates what's really going on in Salem as the fear over witches rises; and Mary prepares to execute a plan.

Where to Watch
Salem, Season 1 Episode 2 image

Episode 3

In Vain

Sun, May 4, 2014 60 mins

Mary decides on a course of action after discovering who witnessed the witches' ceremony.

Where to Watch

Episode 4


Sun, May 11, 2014 60 mins

Alden worries when an old nemesis arrives in Salem with secrets that could destroy him; and Mary loses her grip on Mercy.

Where to Watch
Salem, Season 1 Episode 4 image

Episode 5


Sun, May 18, 2014 60 mins

Mary and her coven are at odds; Alden and Cotton come across a dangerous witches' relic.

Where to Watch
Salem, Season 1 Episode 5 image

Episode 6

The Red Rose and the Briar

Sun, May 25, 2014 60 mins

Alden and Cotton come face-to-face with a real witch; Mary comes up with a solution to the discord within the coven.

Where to Watch

Episode 7

Our Own Private America

Sun, Jun 1, 2014 60 mins

Romantic feelings between Mary and Alden intensify; Cotton deals with a unique accusation in the trials; and a powerful witch hunter makes his way towards Salem.

Where to Watch
Salem, Season 1 Episode 7 image

Episode 8


Sun, Jun 8, 2014 60 mins

The arrival of Cotton's father rocks the town of Salem; at the same time, Mary's power over George is compromised.

Where to Watch
Salem, Season 1 Episode 8 image

Episode 9

Children, Be Afraid

Sun, Jun 15, 2014 60 mins

Mary finds it difficult to get George back under her control; at the same time, Mercy's power is growing and she isn't afraid to use it.

Where to Watch

Episode 10

The House of Pain

Sun, Jun 22, 2014 60 mins

Increase gets closer to understanding who really runs things in Salem; at the same time, Anne finds herself in danger, and in need of Alden's help, while investigating a mystery.

Where to Watch

Episode 11

Cat and Mouse

Sun, Jun 29, 2014 60 mins

Fresh accusations are made against Alden, while Anne learns the truth about her father.

Where to Watch

Episode 12

Ashes, Ashes

Sun, Jul 6, 2014 60 mins

Allegiances are broken and the fate of Salem is tested as Alden's trial begins.

Where to Watch
Salem, Season 1 Episode 12 image

Episode 13

All Fall Down

Sun, Jul 13, 2014 60 mins

Alden comes to learn Mary's biggest secret in the Season 1 finale.

Where to Watch
Salem, Season 1 Episode 13 image