Join or Sign In

Sign in to customize your TV listings

Continue with Facebook Continue with email

By joining TV Guide, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy.

The Queen Season 1 Episodes

Season 1 Episode Guide

Season 1

5 Episodes 2009 - 2009

Episode 1


30 mins

Head of the church as well as the state, the young queen (Emilia Fox) is torn. Her sister, Princess Margaret, is in love with Group Captain Peter Townsend, a dashing, divorced royal servant. The queen wants her sister to be happy, but she knows her duty.

Where to Watch

Episode 2

Us and Them

30 mins

Andrew and Fergie split, and Charles and Diana's mounting troubles are tabloid fodder. In November, Windsor Castle is badly damaged by fire. For the queen (Barbara Flynn), 1992 is the worst year of her life--her annus horribilis.

Where to Watch

Episode 3

The Rivals

30 mins

The royal family's popularity is at an all-time low. Nearly half of England wants to do away with the monarchy altogether. The queen (Samantha Bond) must ask for a pay raise, the IRA makes threats, and Princess Anne is nearly kidnapped.

Where to Watch

Episode 4

The Enemy Within

30 mins

The queen (Diana Quick) is in no hurry to welcome Camilla Parker Bowles into the royal family. For Prince Charles, being with the woman he really loves is nonnegotiable. The ultimate survivor and pragmatist, the queen finally accepts the marriage.

Where to Watch

Episode 5

How Do You Solve a Problem Like Camilla?

30 mins

In 1986, the Commonwealth has its first female prime minister, and the queen (Susan Jameson) is not amused. Mrs. Thatcher opposes Her Majesty on almost everything, especially sanctions against apartheid in South Africa.

Where to Watch