Join or Sign In

Sign in to customize your TV listings

Continue with Facebook Continue with email

By joining TV Guide, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy.

Surviving Jack Season 1 Episodes

Season 1 Episode Guide

Season 1

7 Episodes 2014 - 2014

This sitcom set in the 1990s follows Jack Dunlevy (Christopher Meloni), an ex-military man and no-nonsense doctor, who takes charge of running the household while his wife, Joanne (Rachael Harris), pursues her law degree. Jack takes a strict approach to parenting that doesn't always go over well with his two teenage kids—Frankie (Connor Buckley), an unsure of himself high-school freshman, and Rachel (Claudia Lee), a smart, independent and beautiful 17-year-old junior. But Jack's bark proves far worse than his bite, and while he might sound harsh he only wants what's best for his children as he helps them navigate their way through situations that include Frankie asking his crush to the homecoming dance and getting his first taste of alcohol, and Rachel joining the wrestling team and wanting to go on birth control.

Episode 1


Thu, Mar 27, 2014 30 mins

Jack Dunlevy goes from emotionally distant working father to taking a more active role in the lives of his two teenage kids when his wife, Joanne, goes back to law school in the series premiere of this comedy set in the 1990s.

Where to Watch
Surviving Jack, Season 1 Episode 1 image

Episode 2

Gonna Make You Sweat

Thu, Apr 3, 2014 30 mins

Jack tries to whip Frankie and his friends into shape for varsity baseball tryouts, while Joanne ends up getting too involved in Rachel's love life.

Where to Watch
Surviving Jack, Season 1 Episode 2 image

Episode 3

How Do You Talk to an Angel

Thu, Apr 10, 2014 30 mins

Frankie works up the courage to ask out his crush, only to be disappointed to find that she already has a date for the homecoming dance; at the same time, Jack forces Rachel to drive George to school as a punishment.

Where to Watch
Surviving Jack, Season 1 Episode 3 image

Episode 4

Rhythm Is a Dancer

Thu, Apr 17, 2014 30 mins

Homecoming night is a major letdown for Frankie, whose crush is attending the event with someone else. Meanwhile, Jack and Joanne look forward to a romantic evening at home without the kids; and Rachel leads a protest against the school's "no grinding" policy.

Where to Watch
Surviving Jack, Season 1 Episode 4 image

Episode 5

Something to Talk About

Thu, Apr 24, 2014 30 mins

Frankie introduces Heather to his family, but Joanne doesn't make the best first impression while on pain medication; and Jack puts his wife's post-surgery care second to ensuring no hanky-panky is going on under his roof. Meanwhile, George and Mikey attempt to retrieve a porn video they hid in a "Casablanca" VHS case at the Dunlevy house.

Where to Watch
Surviving Jack, Season 1 Episode 5 image

Episode 6

She Drives Me Crazy

Thu, May 1, 2014 30 mins

Jack's plan for getting Rachel to take school and her future more seriously is to sign her up for the wrestling team, even though the coach is less than thrilled to have her; and Frankie is embarrassed to be seen in public with Joanne during their annual mother-son trip.

Where to Watch
Surviving Jack, Season 1 Episode 6 image

Episode 7

Parents Just Don't Understand

Thu, May 8, 2014 30 mins

Jack and Joanne are at odds after the kids betray their trust; Frankie has his first taste of alcohol at a varsity baseball party; and Rachel decides to go on birth control.

Where to Watch
Surviving Jack, Season 1 Episode 7 image