Join or Sign In

Sign in to customize your TV listings

Continue with Facebook Continue with email

By joining TV Guide, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy.

BBC America Aims to Help Australian Bushfire Relief With New Seven Worlds, One Planet Premiere

The episode will include information about how to help relief efforts

Kaitlin Thomas

In response to the devastation caused by the widespread, ongoing bushfires in Australia, BBC America announced Friday that it will now launch its latest nature documentary series, Seven Worlds, One Planet, with the episode centered on Australia. The series, which is narrated by Sir David Attenborough, makes its U.S. debut Saturday, Jan. 18 and focuses on Earth's seven continents and how they shape animal behavior and biodiversity.

The Australia-centric episode, which was filmed before the fires began (it often takes years to capture the incredible footage featured in programs produced by the BBC Studio's Natural History Unit), will also include important information about relief efforts and how viewers can support them. If you don't have cable, the episode will also be made available to view on without a log-in. Additionally, BBC America has launched a website with links for more information and details regarding organizations that are already helping on the ground.

Russell Crowe Urges Golden Globes Crowd to Address Climate Change in Message From Australia

Filming locations and species featured in the episode include the Eastern Grey Kangaroo, Dingo, Wombat, Jottus Jumping Spider in New South Wales; the Tasmanian Devil in Tasmania; the Cassowary and Budgerigar in Queensland; and the Red Flying Fox, Perentie, and Thorny Devil in Northern Territory.

Currently, it is estimated that 1 billion animals have been killed by the bushfires, and given that Australia is considered a biodiversity hotspot, the sad implications of what this number could mean are unfathomable.

The new episode schedule for Seven Worlds, One Planet is below:

Saturday, January 18 at 9/8c: Australia
Saturday, January 25 at 9/8c: North America (original premiere)
Saturday, February 1 at 9/8c: South America
Saturday, February 8 at 9/8c: Asia
Saturday, February 15 at 9/8c: Europe
Saturday, February 22 at 9/8c: Antarctica
Saturday, February 29 at 9/8c: Africa

Seven Worlds, One Planet premieres Saturday, Jan. 18 at 9/8c on BBC America, AMC, IFC, and Sundance.

Seven Worlds, One Planet

BBC America/BBC Studios