Kathryn Bigelow Kathryn Bigelow

The Hurt Locker director Kathryn Bigelow has become the first woman ever to win for a feature film at the Directors Guild Awards.

"This is the most incredible moment of my life," Bigelow said at Saturday night's ceremony, according to The Hollywood Reporter.

She is now considered a front-runner for the best director Oscar. Only six times has the directors' guild winner not also taken home the Academy Award. She was the only seventh female director ever nominated for the DGA award.

Hurt Locker, 30 Rock, Mad Men honored at PGA Awards

On the small screen, Leslie Linka Glatter won best directing in a TV drama series for Mad Men, and Modern Family won in the comedy category for pilot director Jason Winer. Taking Chance director Ross Katz snagged best directing for a TV movie and another HBO project, We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial, won best musical variety for helmer Don Mischer.

On a bittersweet note, Christopher Goutman received the daytime serial directing award for his work on the now canceled As the World Turns.

Build It Bigger Season 3: Hong Kong Bridge director Craig Borders won in the reality TV category, and Allison Liddi-Brown was honored for children's programming for the Disney Channel TV movie Princess Protection Program

Other film winners include The Cove director Louie Psihoyos for best documentary, and Norman Jewison (In the Heat of the Night) received the 2010 lifetime achievement award.