Join or Sign In

Sign in to customize your TV listings

Continue with Facebook Continue with email

By joining TV Guide, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy.

Karina Smirnoff Is Leaving Dancing with the Stars — But Which Pros Are Returning?

See all the pros dancing in Season 20

Sadie Gennis

Karina Smirnoff is leaving Dancing with the Starsafter 16 seasons.

The Dancing pro announced that she wouldn't be returning to the ABC reality competition on Tuesday.

"Many of you have been asking if I will be back for season 20 of DWTS and I wanted all of my incredible family to hear it directly from me," Smirnoff wrote on Instagram. "After a lot of thought and prayer, I've decided to focus my energies on some other exciting endeavors including adding author to my resume. I have absolutely loved dancing for all of you for all these years and feel blessed to have been given a platform to put my passion for dance, choreography and creativity on display. DWTS has been a huge part of my life for the last 10 years and i will always have a special place in my heart for it."

Grammys fashion hits and misses

Smirnoff, who released her first book We're Just Not That Into You: Dating Disasters From the Trenches on Tuesday, joined DWTS in 2006 for its third season. She has competed in every season since except Season 10 and won the Mirrorball trophy with J.R. Martinez in Season 3.

In addition to Smirnoff, Dancing will be losing a few other pros for Season 20. Cheryl Burke and Derek Hough will also not return.

However, ABC confirmed on Good Morning AmericaWednesday that many familiar faces will tear up the dance floor once more. Mark Ballas, Kym Johnson, Sharna Burgess, Witney Carson, Artem Chigvintsey, Val Chmerkovskiy, Tony Dovolani, Allison Holker, Peta Murgatroyd and Emma Slater will all return.

TODAY'S VIDEO: Grey's Antomy's Sarah Drew discusses April's "emotional roller coaster"