Drew Barrymore and Wanda Sykes Drew Barrymore and Wanda Sykes

The Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation will honor Drew Barrymore and Wanda Sykes at the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards, the group announced Thursday.

Wanda Sykes: No celebs are safe on The Wanda Sykes Show

Barrymore will receive GLAAD's Vanguard Award for increasing the visibility and understanding of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people. The actress and producer played a lesbian in the 2009 film Everbody's Fine, and joined thousands of same-sex marriage advocates to protest the California Supreme Court decision that upheld Proposition 8.

Sykes will receive the Stephen F. Kolzak Award, given to an openly lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender person who has helped promote equality. The actress and comedian, who came out in 2008 and announced she had married her wife, has appeared in LGBT public service announcements, performed at LGBT fundraisers and served as a Board Member for the Equality California Institute.

The ceremony will be held on April 17 in Los Angeles. Additionally, Sex and the City star Cynthia Nixon will be honored for promoting equality during GLAAD's New York City ceremony on March 13, and Levi Strauss president Robert Hanson will receive a local hero award in San Francisco, Calif., on June 5.