Joseph Fiennes in <I>Flash Forward</i> Joseph Fiennes in Flash Forward

Marking its second fall season pick-up in as many days, ABC has granted a 13-episode order to Flash Forward, an action-drama based on Robert J. Sawyer's novel of the same name.

Starring Joseph Fiennes (Shakespeare in Love), Flash Forward chronicles the aftermath of a global event in which everyone in the world blacks out for 2 minutes, 17 seconds, and has mysterious visions of six months into the future.

The series' pick-up is not surprising, as ABC has been teasing it for the past two weeks during episodes of Lost. On Thursday, ABC picked up the comedy Modern Family.

David Goyer and Brannon Braga (who co-wrote the pilot) will serve as executive producers alongside Jessika Goyer, Vince Gerardis, Ralph Vicinanza and Marc Guggenheim. Guggenheim and David Goyer will share showrunner duties.

Other members of Flash Forward's ensemble include Sonya Walger (Lost), John Cho (Star Trek), Jack Davenport, Brian O'Byrne, Courtney B. Vance and Peyton List (Mad Men).

Flash Forward is expected to premiere in the fall.

Crave scoop on your favorite TV shows? E-mail senior editors Matt, Mickey and Tim at Also, follow TV Guide on Twitter.