Join or Sign In

Sign in to customize your TV listings

Continue with Facebook Continue with email

By joining TV Guide, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy.

The People v. O.J. Simpson Wins Emmy for Outstanding Limited Series

Well, duh

Kaitlin Thomas

FX's The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story was found guilty of killing it at the 68th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards. The Ryan Murphy-created series won the Emmy for Outstanding Limited Series Sunday evening, beating out Fargo, The Night Manager, American Crime and Roots.

It was widely predicted that the FX series -- which offered a dramatized version of the trial and tackled issues like sexism and race relations -- would take home the Emmy, but the second season of FX's critically acclaimed series Fargo was considered to be a very close runner-up.

In total, The People v. O.J. Simpson was nominated for 22 Emmys, the most of any limited series. In terms of the major awards, Courtney B. Vance beat co-star Cuba Gooding Jr. to take home the statue for lead actor, while Sarah Paulson finally won her first Emmy for her portrayal of Marcia Clark. Elsewhere, Sterling K. Brown beat out co-stars David Schwimmer and John Travolta for the Emmy for supporting actor in a limited series. The series also won Outstanding Writing for a Limited Series.

Check out our complete Emmy Awards coverage here

At last weekend's Creative Arts Emmys, the series took home four awards, including Outstanding Casting, Outstanding Single-Camera Picture Editing, Outstanding Hairstyling (justice for Marcia at last!) and Outstanding Sound Mixing.

FX has done relatively well in terms of earning nominations for its limited series since Murphy's first anthology series American Horror Story was first eligible 2012, but until now, only Noah Hawley's Fargo (in 2014) has managed to walk away with the biggest award for a limited series.

For our complete Emmys coverage, click here.