Masterpiece 1971 | TV Show Watchlist


Photos  |  Cast & Crew  |  Episode Guide  |  Video Clips

PBS's longest running (and most honored) dramatic series is an Anglophile's delight, featuring British adaptations of literary classics and original works. The first `Masterpiece' was `The First Churchills,' and since then it has won nine Peabodys and 29 E (more…)

Premiered: January 10, 1971

Rating: TV-PG

User Rating:4.52 out of 5 (809 ratings)

Your Rating:

Season 17, Episode 1 The Bretts: The King Shall Not Die

First Aired: October 11, 1987

An eight-part series about "The Bretts," a theatrical family whose members---and servants---are deliciously hammy. In Part 1, Lydia (Barbara Murray) storms out on her husband (Norman Rodway) when he hires a young, beautiful secretary. Edwin: David Yelland. Martha: Belinda Lang. Thomas: George Winter. Sutton: Tim Wylton.