American Experience 1988 | TV Show Watchlist

American Experience

Photos  |  Cast & Crew  |  Episode Guide  |  Video Clips

This much-honored PBS documentary series explores American history, one topic or person at a time. Its Peabody Award winners include profiles of FDR and Malcolm X, and such diverse topics as Nixon's 1972 trip to China, the controversy surrounding `Citizen (more…)

Premiered: October 4, 1988

Rating: TV-PG

User Rating:4.71 out of 5 (31 ratings)

Your Rating:

Season 21, Episode 9 Wounded Knee

First Aired: May 11, 2009

"Wounded Knee" makes judicious use of archival footage and new interviews to tell the gripping story of the Feb. 27, 1973 takeover of a small South Dakota town on the Pine Ridge Reservation by some 200 Oglala Lakota and American Indian Movement activists, who hoped to use the incident to redress past and current wrongs (the Oglala were unhappy with tribal chairman Dick Wilson). AIM leaders Dennis Banks and Russell Means, who both took part in the 71-day occupation, are among those interviewed.

Watch Now

Guest Cast