American Experience 1988 | TV Show

Cast & Crew  |  Episode Guide

This much-honored PBS documentary series explores American history, one topic or person at a time. Its Peabody Award winners include profiles of FDR and Malcolm X, and such diverse topics as Nixon's 1972 trip to China, the controversy surrounding `Citizen (more…)

Premiered: October 4, 1988

Rating: TV-PG

User Rating:4.71 out of 5 (31 ratings)

Your Rating:

Season 26, Episode 3 The Amish Shunned: American Experience

First Aired: February 4, 2014

The Amish practice of shunning those who leave their faith is explored through the experiences of individuals who have left their communities. Also: faithful Amish men and women share the heartbreak they feel when a loved one leaves.

Previous Episode

American Experience: 1964

Season 26, Episode 2

January 14, 2014

Next Episode

Butch Cassidy & the Sundance Kid

Season 26, Episode 4

February 11, 2014