American Experience 1988 | TV Show

Cast & Crew  |  Episode Guide

This much-honored PBS documentary series explores American history, one topic or person at a time. Its Peabody Award winners include profiles of FDR and Malcolm X, and such diverse topics as Nixon's 1972 trip to China, the controversy surrounding `Citizen (more…)

Premiered: October 4, 1988

Rating: TV-PG

User Rating:4.71 out of 5 (31 ratings)

Your Rating:

Season 12, Episode 12 George Wallace: Settin' the Woods on Fire

First Aired: April 24, 2000

A haunting two-part profile of George Wallace, who, says narrator Randy Quaid, “divided a nation and launched a conservative movement that transformed the country.” Part 1 covers Wallace's career up to the death of his first wife, Lurleen, in 1968, just as he was embarking on his second Presidential bid. But it begins by concentrating on what Quaid calls “the devil's bargain” he made to gain the Alabama governorship. Interviewed: lawyer J.L. Chestnut and Wallace biographer Dan Carter, as well as journalists, Wallace aides and two of his children.

Previous Episode


Season 12, Episode 11

May 7, 2000

Next Episode

George Wallace: Settin' the Woods on Fire

Season 12, Episode 13

April 25, 2000

Trending TonightSee all »