Join or Sign In

Sign in to customize your TV listings

Continue with Facebook Continue with email

By joining TV Guide, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy.

1968 Season 1 Episodes

Season 1 Episode Guide

Season 1

8 Episodes 2018 -

Episode 1


Sun, May 27, 2018 60 mins

The premiere of the documentary series, which recalls the tumultuous year of 1968. First up: the Marines are besieged at Khe Sanh and the Viet Cong launch the Tet offensive, a turning point in the Vietnam War. Also: the 1968 presidential election begins to take shape when Sen. Eugene McCarthy challenges the sitting president of his own party, Lyndon Johnson. Also, Republican Richard Nixon begins his political comeback attempt with another presidential run.

Where to Watch

Episode 2


Sun, May 27, 2018 60 mins

Martin Luther King Jr. is assassinated in Memphis and, in response, riots break out across the country. The Academy Award for Best Picture goes to the racially-themed "In the Heat of the Night" and "Hair" opens on Broadway. At Columbia University, striking students take control of the campus, leading to a bloody confrontation with police. As the battle of Khe Sahn rages in Vietnam, the U.S. and North Vietnam open peace talks in Paris.

Where to Watch

Episode 3


Mon, May 28, 2018 60 mins

The death of Sen. Robert Kennedy roils the presidential race. Republican Richard Nixon fights to head off a last-minute challenge from Gov. Ronald Reagan of California. Meanwhile, the Democratic Party has lost its most popular candidate and is at war with itself over the Vietnam War. Mayor Richard J. Daley vows to maintain law and order as protesters and politicos converge in Chicago for the Democratic National Convention.

Where to Watch

Episode 4


Mon, May 28, 2018 60 mins

The on-going protests in the U.S. lead to the end of the war and Richard Nixon securing the presidency. Also: On Election Day, the vote is so close that the winner, Richard Nixon, is not declared until the following morning. On TV, Elvis Presley launches a comeback of his own. The widows of Sen. Robert Kennedy and Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. look back at the year.

Where to Watch

Episode 5

A Nation On Edge

Sat, Jun 13, 2020 60 mins

A look is given at a turning point in the Vietnam War and the beginning of the 1968 presidential election that changed the course of history, with an introduction by Don Lemon.

Where to Watch

Episode 6

Tragedy Strikes

Sat, Jun 13, 2020 60 mins

The events are revisited that followed the assassination of Martin Luther King Jr. and Senator Robert F. Kennedy's pursuit of the Democratic nomination.

Where to Watch

Episode 7

The Uprising

Sat, Jun 27, 2020 60 mins

The mounting pressure of the presidential race following the death of Senator Robert F. Kennedy is examined, with an introduction by Don Lemon.

Where to Watch

Episode 8

Protest & The Presidency

Sun, Jun 28, 2020 60 mins

The ongoing protests in the United States are followed that led to the end of the Vietnam War and Richard Nixon securing the presidency.

Where to Watch