This gritty, acclaimed crime drama from Steven Bochco elevated the genre and altered the boundaries of what network censors would allow. The series initially caused controversy with its frank language, realistic violence and nudity, but it became a critical darling, garnering 27 Emmy nominations in its first year alone. There were many awards (and cast changes) through the years, but Andy Sipowicz remained its haunted soul for the show's unforgettable 12-year run.


Dennis Franz Det. Andy Sipowicz
Gordon Clapp Det. Greg Medavoy
Esai Morales Lt. Tony Rodriguez
Garcelle Beauvais ADA Valerie Haywood
Rick Schroder Det. Danny Sorenson
Nicholas Turturro Det. James Martinez
Amy Brenneman Off. Janice Licalsi
Sherry Stringfield Laura Hughes Kelly
Sharon Lawrence ADA Sylvia Costas Sipowicz
Gail O'Grady Donna Abandando
Jimmy Smits Det. Bobby Simone
Kim Delaney Det. Diane Russell
Andrea Thompson Det. Jill Kirkendall
David Caruso Det. John Kelly
Charlotte Ross Det. Connie McDowell
Henry Simmons Det. Baldwin Jones
Mark-Paul Gosselaar Det. John Clark
Bonnie Somerville Det. Laura Murphy