Masterpiece Episodes

1971, TV Show

Masterpiece Episode: "Birdsong"

Season 42, Episode 11
Episode Synopsis: Part 1 of 2. "Birdsong," an adaptation of the Sebastian Faulks novel about a British lieutenant in World War I whose memories of a prewar romance with a married French woman both sustain and haunt him.
Original Air Date: Apr 22, 2012
Guest Cast Eddie Redmayne: Stephen Wraysford Rory Keenan: Pvt. Brennan Clémence Poésy: Isabelle Azaire Anthony Andrews: Col. Barclay Daniel Cerqueira: Shaw Joseph Mawle: Jack Firebrace Laurent Lafitte: René Azaire Thomas Turgoose: Pvt. Tipper Richard Madden: Capt. Michael Weir
Full Episode
click to playclick to play
Season 42, Episode 11
Paid | iTunes
Length: 45:20
Aired: 4/22/2012

play more info

Are You Watching?

Loading ...
Premiered: January 10, 1971, on PBS
Rating: TV-PG
User Rating: (750 ratings)
Add Your Rating: 1 stars2 stars3 stars4 stars5 stars
Premise: PBS's longest running (and most honored) dramatic series is an Anglophile's delight, featuring British adaptations of literary classics and original works. The first `Masterpiece' was `The First Churchills,' and since then it has won nine Peabodys and 29 Emmys (beginning with Susan Hampshire's Best Actress award for `Churchills'). Its many memorable productions include `Upstairs, Downstairs,' `I, Claudius,' 'The Jewel in the Crown,' `House of Cards,' `Poldark' and `Prime Suspect.'


TV GUIDE Users' Most Popular