Masterpiece Episodes

1971, TV Show

Masterpiece Episode: "The Wingless Bird"

Season 27, Episode 14
Episode Synopsis: "The Wingless Bird," a three-part drama of class differences in WWI England. In Part 1, a shopkeeper (Claire Skinner) is preoccupied by a well-born suitor (Edward Atterton), as well as her sister's clandestine love affair. Reginald: Julian Wadham. Mr. Conway: Frank Grimes.
Original Air Date: Feb 8, 1998

Are You Watching?

Loading ...
Premiered: January 10, 1971, on PBS
Rating: TV-PG
User Rating: (805 ratings)
Add Your Rating: 1 stars2 stars3 stars4 stars5 stars
Premise: PBS's longest running (and most honored) dramatic series is an Anglophile's delight, featuring British adaptations of literary classics and original works. The first `Masterpiece' was `The First Churchills,' and since then it has won nine Peabodys and 29 Emmys (beginning with Susan Hampshire's Best Actress award for `Churchills'). Its many memorable productions include `Upstairs, Downstairs,' `I, Claudius,' 'The Jewel in the Crown,' `House of Cards,' `Poldark' and `Prime Suspect.'



Masterpiece Mystery: Endeavour Series 1
Buy Masterpiece Mystery: Endeavour Series 1 from
From Pbs (Direct) (DVD)
Usually ships in 24 hours
Buy New: $21.75 (as of 12/20/14 2:56 PM EST - more info)

More Products

TV GUIDE Users' Most Popular