Masterpiece Episodes

1971, TV Show

Masterpiece Episode: "Middlemarch"

Season 23, Episode 18
Episode Synopsis: "Middlemarch," based on George Eliot's novel about a young idealist (Juliet Aubrey) in 1829 England. Part 1 of six. Edward: Patrick Malahide. Dr. Lydgate: Douglas Hodge. Fred: Jonathan Firth. Arthur: Robert Hardy.
Original Air Date: Mar 13, 1994

Are You Watching?

Loading ...
Premiered: January 10, 1971, on PBS
Rating: TV-PG
User Rating: (802 ratings)
Add Your Rating: 1 stars2 stars3 stars4 stars5 stars
Premise: PBS's longest running (and most honored) dramatic series is an Anglophile's delight, featuring British adaptations of literary classics and original works. The first `Masterpiece' was `The First Churchills,' and since then it has won nine Peabodys and 29 Emmys (beginning with Susan Hampshire's Best Actress award for `Churchills'). Its many memorable productions include `Upstairs, Downstairs,' `I, Claudius,' 'The Jewel in the Crown,' `House of Cards,' `Poldark' and `Prime Suspect.'



Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 5
Buy Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 5 from
From Pbs (Direct) (DVD)
Not yet released
Buy New: $32.99 (as of 11/28/14 2:21 PM EST - more info)
Masterpiece: Worricker - Turks & Caicos
Buy Masterpiece: Worricker - Turks & Caicos from
Usually ships in 24 hours
Buy New: $17.56 (as of 11/28/14 2:21 PM EST - more info)

More Products

TV GUIDE Users' Most Popular