Masterpiece Episodes

1971, TV Show

Masterpiece Episode: "The Death of the Heart"

Season 16, Episode 28
Episode Synopsis: "The Death of the Heart," by Elizabeth Bowen, set in pre-World War II London. Portia Quayne (Jojo Cole) is a 16-year-old orphan who craves passion and a feeling of belonging, though neither is likely at the home of her half-brother (Nigel Havers) and his remote wife (Patricia Hodge). Matchett: Wendy Hiller. Eddie: Daniel Chatto. Daphne: Miranda Richardson.
Original Air Date: May 3, 1987

Are You Watching?

Loading ...
Premiered: January 10, 1971, on PBS
Rating: TV-PG
User Rating: (759 ratings)
Add Your Rating: 1 stars2 stars3 stars4 stars5 stars
Premise: PBS's longest running (and most honored) dramatic series is an Anglophile's delight, featuring British adaptations of literary classics and original works. The first `Masterpiece' was `The First Churchills,' and since then it has won nine Peabodys and 29 Emmys (beginning with Susan Hampshire's Best Actress award for `Churchills'). Its many memorable productions include `Upstairs, Downstairs,' `I, Claudius,' 'The Jewel in the Crown,' `House of Cards,' `Poldark' and `Prime Suspect.'



Masterpiece Theatre: Northanger Abbey
Buy Masterpiece Theatre: Northanger Abbey from
From PBS (DVD)
Usually ships in 24 hours
Buy New: $14.53 (as of 7:41 PM EST - more info)
Masterpiece Mystery: Endeavour Series 1
Buy Masterpiece Mystery: Endeavour Series 1 from
From Pbs (Direct) (DVD)
Usually ships in 24 hours
Buy New: $20.67 (as of 7:41 PM EST - more info)

More Products

TV GUIDE Users' Most Popular