Masterpiece Episodes

1971, TV Show

Masterpiece Episode: "The Bretts: The King Shall Not Die"

Season 17, Episode 1
Episode Synopsis: An eight-part series about "The Bretts," a theatrical family whose members---and servants---are deliciously hammy. In Part 1, Lydia (Barbara Murray) storms out on her husband (Norman Rodway) when he hires a young, beautiful secretary. Edwin: David Yelland. Martha: Belinda Lang. Thomas: George Winter. Sutton: Tim Wylton.
Original Air Date: Oct 11, 1987

Are You Watching?

Loading ...
Premiered: January 10, 1971, on PBS
Rating: TV-PG
User Rating: (805 ratings)
Add Your Rating: 1 stars2 stars3 stars4 stars5 stars
Premise: PBS's longest running (and most honored) dramatic series is an Anglophile's delight, featuring British adaptations of literary classics and original works. The first `Masterpiece' was `The First Churchills,' and since then it has won nine Peabodys and 29 Emmys (beginning with Susan Hampshire's Best Actress award for `Churchills'). Its many memorable productions include `Upstairs, Downstairs,' `I, Claudius,' 'The Jewel in the Crown,' `House of Cards,' `Poldark' and `Prime Suspect.'


TV GUIDE Users' Most Popular