Masterpiece Episodes

1971, TV Show

Masterpiece Episode: "Bleak House"

Season 15, Episode 7
Episode Synopsis: Victorian England comes alive in this eight-part adaptation of Charles Dickens' "Bleak House," a devastating attack on an arthritic legal system. Part 1 introduces would-be heirs Richard Carstone (Philip Franks) and Ada Clare (Lucy Hornak), who are made wards of the court and sent to live with their bachelor cousin (Denholm Elliott). Esther Summerson: Suzanne Burden. Lady Dedlock: Diana Rigg. Krook: Bernard Hepton.
Original Air Date: Dec 1, 1985

Are You Watching?

Loading ...
Premiered: January 10, 1971, on PBS
Rating: TV-PG
User Rating: (803 ratings)
Add Your Rating: 1 stars2 stars3 stars4 stars5 stars
Premise: PBS's longest running (and most honored) dramatic series is an Anglophile's delight, featuring British adaptations of literary classics and original works. The first `Masterpiece' was `The First Churchills,' and since then it has won nine Peabodys and 29 Emmys (beginning with Susan Hampshire's Best Actress award for `Churchills'). Its many memorable productions include `Upstairs, Downstairs,' `I, Claudius,' 'The Jewel in the Crown,' `House of Cards,' `Poldark' and `Prime Suspect.'



Masterpiece Mystery: Endeavour Series 1
Buy Masterpiece Mystery: Endeavour Series 1 from
From Pbs (Direct) (DVD)
Usually ships in 24 hours
Buy New: $21.75

More Products

TV GUIDE Users' Most Popular