Masterpiece Episodes

1971, TV Show

Masterpiece Episode: "Crime and Punishment"

Season 10, Episode 1
Episode Synopsis: A four-part adaptation of "Crime and Punishment," Dostoevsky's novel of sin and redemption. John Hurt portrays the student Raskolnikov who, in Part 1, murders a greedy moneylender (Beatrix Lehmann) and sets the stage for a psychological game of cat and mouse. Marmeladov: Frank Middlemass. Katerina Ivanova: Sian Phillips. Lizaveta: Carinthia West. Nastasya: Anne Orwin. Student: Simon Rouse.
Original Air Date: Sep 28, 1980

Are You Watching?

Loading ...
Premiered: January 10, 1971, on PBS
Rating: TV-PG
User Rating: (805 ratings)
Add Your Rating: 1 stars2 stars3 stars4 stars5 stars
Premise: PBS's longest running (and most honored) dramatic series is an Anglophile's delight, featuring British adaptations of literary classics and original works. The first `Masterpiece' was `The First Churchills,' and since then it has won nine Peabodys and 29 Emmys (beginning with Susan Hampshire's Best Actress award for `Churchills'). Its many memorable productions include `Upstairs, Downstairs,' `I, Claudius,' 'The Jewel in the Crown,' `House of Cards,' `Poldark' and `Prime Suspect.'



Beethoven Masterpieces for Solo Piano: 25 Works (Dover Music for Piano)
Buy Beethoven Masterpieces for Solo Piano: 25 Works (Dover Music for Piano) from
From Dover Publications (Paperback)
Usually ships in 24 hours
Buy New: $11.36 (as of 12/18/14 2:53 PM EST - more info)

More Products

TV GUIDE Users' Most Popular