First Churchills 1971 | TV Show Watchlist

First Churchills

The life of John Churchill, the first Duke of Marlborough, is the subject of a 12-part 1971 serial that launched PBS's venerated `Masterpiece Theatre.'

Premiered: January 10, 1971

Rating: None

TV Guide Rating:(0 ratings)

Your Rating:Rate this TV Show:

User Rating:0 out of 5 (0 ratings)

Your Rating:

Latest Full EpisodesSee all »

Breaking the Circle Season 1, Episode 11 $3.99

Queen Anne rewards John by giving him land at Woodstock and directing that a great palace be built there. Sarah vehemently presses the queen to appoint moderate Whigs to the government to support John. The queen refuses, and the rift in their relationship is adroitly exploited by Sarah's cousin, Abigail Hill.

A Famous Victory Season 1, Episode 10 $3.99

After a string of victories, John is made Duke of Marlborough by a grateful Queen Anne and given an income to support his new social standing. Sarah and John suffer a crushing personal tragedy, but the next spring John leads the allies to a brilliant victory at Blenheim.

Reconciliation Season 1, Episode 9 $3.99

William publicly embraces Anne but privately makes it clear his motives are purely political. Eager to maintain the fragile peace with France, the king also reconciles with John, reinstating him as privy counselor and appointing him to oversee the education of the young Duke of Gloucester. Sarah arranges for her cousin, Abigail, to become an aide to Princess Anne.

The Queen Commands Season 1, Episode 8 $3.99

Anne maintains her loyalty to Sarah despite intense pressure from the queen. As James's army advances, John is arrested for high treason. Without John in command, William's army suffers two years of costly defeats against the French. The queen falls gravely ill.

Video ClipsSee all »

The First Churchills Season 1
At a time when most marriages were motivated by money and position, Sarah Jennings and John Churchill married for love. Their union lasted through lon (more…)