Dickens Episodes

2003, TV Show

Episode Detail: Blazing - Dickens

In Part 2, host Peter Ackroyd follows Dickens as he writes many of his celebrated novels---from “Oliver Twist” to “David Copperfield”---and explores how his social conscience was influenced by his “secret past” as a poor youth in London. The books made him “the most famous novelist in the world,” Ackroyd says, but his marriage soured early, and while he would remain with his wife for 22 years, he felt “trapped” by her, and happiness eluded him. “There are some who were born for turbulence,” sighs Dickens (played by Anton Lesser). “I believe fate always drives me toward it.”

Episodes: Dickens (4)

12/17/2003: Terror to the End    Season 1, Episode 3
12/17/2003: Blazing    Season 1, Episode 2
12/17/2003: Secrets    Season 1, Episode 1
12/17/2003: Secrets; Blazing Away; Terror to the End

Are You Watching?

Loading ...
Premiered: December 17, 2003, on PBS
Rating: TV-PG
User Rating: (Be the first to rate!)
Add Your Rating: 1 stars2 stars3 stars4 stars5 stars
Premise: A three-part probe of the author's psyche, conducted by Charles Dickens scholar Peter Ackroyd. Actors portray Dickens and various contemporaries to provide further insights.


TV GUIDE Users' Most Popular