Dickens Episodes

2003, TV Show

Episode Detail: Secrets - Dickens

Dickens scholar Peter Ackroyd probes the psyche of the 19th century's most famous author in this intriguing three-part profile, which juxtaposes Ackroyd's commentary with the insights of the author himself (played by Anton Lesser) and people associated with him. Added to the mix: scenes from film adaptations of Dickens novels that relate to his life. Part 1 covers his childhood, which began well in Kent, but ended badly in London. Dickens emerged from it “with an appetite for success and fame as if it might remove [its] taint,” and took to writing. Soon, “Dickens was starting to fill his work with the secrets of his own life,” Ackroyd says. And when he published “The Pickwick Papers,” at age 24, he became a celebrity.

Episodes: Dickens (4)

12/17/2003: Terror to the End    Season 1, Episode 3
12/17/2003: Blazing    Season 1, Episode 2
12/17/2003: Secrets    Season 1, Episode 1
12/17/2003: Secrets; Blazing Away; Terror to the End

Are You Watching?

Loading ...
Premiered: December 17, 2003, on PBS
Rating: TV-PG
User Rating: (Be the first to rate!)
Add Your Rating: 1 stars2 stars3 stars4 stars5 stars
Premise: A three-part probe of the author's psyche, conducted by Charles Dickens scholar Peter Ackroyd. Actors portray Dickens and various contemporaries to provide further insights.



Charles Dickens: The Complete Novels in One Sitting
Buy Charles Dickens: The Complete Novels in One Sitting from Amazon.com
From Running Press Miniature Editions (Hardcover)
Usually ships in 24 hours
Buy New: $5.36 (as of 08/28/14 11:01 AM EST - more info)

More Products

TV GUIDE Users' Most Popular