Benjamin Franklin Episodes

2002, TV Show

Episode Detail: The Chess Master - Benjamin Franklin

Conclusion: “The Chess Master” follows “America's native genius,” as historian Keith Arbour calls Franklin, through the final 14 years of his life, nine of which were spent in Paris as the rebellious colonies' ambassador to France. Franklin's first goal (aside from creating the U.S. foreign service on the fly) was to secure financial and military aid. He went about doing it in the same manner as he played chess. “There are always 16 or 32 moves to think of in advance,” says Arbour. And, adds historian H.W. Brands: “He wasn't above moving the pieces.” Richard Easton plays Franklin; Colm Feore narrates.

Episodes: Benjamin Franklin (4)

Are You Watching?

Loading ...
Premiered: November 19, 2002, on PBS
Rating: TV-G
User Rating: (Be the first to rate!)
Add Your Rating: 1 stars2 stars3 stars4 stars5 stars
Premise: The life and achievements of America's revolutionary genius are chronciled in his own words (plus those of a parade of historians). Produced by the production team responsible for the 1997 PBS series `Liberty! The American Revolution.'



Benjamin Franklin
Buy Benjamin Franklin from
From PBS (DVD)
Usually ships in 24 hours
Buy New: $16.16 (as of 12/25/14 11:36 PM EST - more info)

More Products

TV GUIDE Users' Most Popular