American Experience

1988, TV Show

Full Episodes(61)

Latest Episode: American Experience: JFK, Pt. 4

Nov 12, 2013 Season 25 Episode 9 watch on (Paid)

From PBS and AMERICAN EXPERIENCE: Part Four - The final installment follows Kennedy through his assassination and the unfulfilled promise of his presidency. Kennedy faces Khrushchev again in the Cuban Missile Crisis, ignited when Soviet warheads are spotted in Cuba. Negotiating his way out of the crisis proves to be one of Kennedy’s finest hours, and he spends the rest of his term working for nuclear disarmament. Domestically, the issue of civil rights continues and when Governor George Wallace of Alabama refuses to allow African-American students in the state university, Kennedy brings the issue to the nation, calling for the passage of a civil rights act. Looking ahead to the next election, Kennedy knows he must win Texas to have a second term. So he takes a fateful trip to Dallas, with Jackie accompanying him on her first domestic trip. It is there that an assassin’s bullet ends his life, forever enshrining him in myth.

Part Three: 1854 - Emancipation and Victory

Jan 22, 2013 Season 25 Episode 3

The battle between pro-slavery and free-soil contingents rises to fever pitch. During his raid on Harpers Ferry, John Brown is captured, then executed, becoming a martyr for the cause. Abraham Lincoln is elected president in 1860. Southern states secede, war breaks out and the conflict unexpectedly drags on. On New Year’s Day 1863, it is announced that Lincoln has emancipated the slaves in rebel territory. African-American men may now enlist in the Union forces; two of Douglass’ sons go to war. In December 1865, the Thirteenth Amendment is ratified, banning slavery in all states — forever.
watch on (Paid)

Part Two: 1838-1854

Jan 15, 2013 Season 25 Episode 2

Douglass escapes slavery, eventually joining Garrison in the anti-slavery movement. Threatened with capture by his former owner, Douglass flees to England, returning to the U.S. in 1847. He launches his own anti-slavery paper. John Brown meets with Douglass, revealing his radical plan to raise an army, attack plantations and free the slaves. Harriet Beecher Stowe publishes Uncle Tom’s Cabin in 1852. A best-seller, and then wildly successful stage play, this influential novel changes the hearts and minds of millions of Americans. The divide between North and South deepens, touching off a crisis that is about to careen out of control.
watch on (Paid)

Part One: 1820s-1838

Jan 08, 2013 Season 25 Episode 1

Shared beliefs about slavery bring together Angelina Grimké, the daughter of a Charleston plantation family, who moves north and becomes a public speaker against slavery; Frederick Douglass, a young slave who becomes hopeful when he hears about the abolitionists; William Lloyd Garrison, who founds the newspaper The Liberator, a powerful voice for the movement; Harriet Beecher Stowe, whose first trip to the South changes her life and her writing; and John Brown, who devotes his life to the cause. The abolitionist movement, however, is in disarray and increasing violence raises doubts about the efficacy of its pacifist tactics.
watch on (Paid)

American Experience Clips & Interviews collapse view

American Experience: Freedom Summer
The American Experience: The Poisoner'
The American Experience: Butch Cassidy
American Experience: War Of The Worlds
The American Experience: The Amish: Sh
The American Experience: Geronimo And
The American Experience: The 1930S: Se
The American Experience: Around The Wo
The American Experience: Macarthur
The American Experience: Surviving The
The American Experience: The Civilian
The American Experience: My Lai
The American Experience: Annie Oakley
The American Experience: Lost In The G
The American Experience: The Great War

TV GUIDE Users' Most Popular