Ken Burns American Stories2002 | TV Show

Cast & Crew  |  Episode Guide

A series of documentaries by Ken Burns, including 'The Statue of Liberty,' 'Brooklyn Bridge,' 'Thomas Jefferson' and episodes of 'Jazz' and 'Baseball.'

Premiered: October 6, 2002

Rating: None

User Rating: (0 ratings)

Your Rating:

Season 1, Episode 9 Jazz: The True Welcome (1929-1935)

First Aired: January 15, 2001

“Jazz: The True Welcome,” from Burns' 2001 series, covers 1929 to '35. “The jazz age was over,” says narrator Keith David, and jobs for jazzmen and women were scarce. But Duke Ellington (“he taught us the meaning of style,” says Ossie Davis) prospered, as did Fats Waller and Art Tatum. Harlem danced the lindy hop. Benny Goodman began playing his “genuine jazz.” And Louis Armstrong began to sing---like no one had before him.

Previous Episode

Mark Twain

Season 1, Episode 8

January 15, 2003

Next Episode

Empire of the Air: The Men Who Made Radio

Season 1, Episode 10

January 29, 1992