Ken Burns American Stories 2002 | TV Show

Cast & Crew  |  Episode Guide

A series of documentaries by Ken Burns, including 'The Statue of Liberty,' 'Brooklyn Bridge,' 'Thomas Jefferson' and episodes of 'Jazz' and 'Baseball.'

Premiered: October 6, 2002

Rating: None

User Rating:0 out of 5 (0 ratings)

Your Rating:

Season 1, Episode 8 Mark Twain

First Aired: January 15, 2003

As the conclusion of Burns' 2002 biography of Mark Twain begins it's 1885 and Twain is celebrated, rich and content. The good times wouldn't last. The money would go first (“He was hopeless as a businessman,” says Arthur Miller), forcing him on lecture tours and into virtual exile abroad. Then family tragedies left him embittered, toward God, mostly (“There is only empty space,” he once said). But his celebrity kept him going, and at his death, on April 21, 1910, he was “the most conspicuous person on the planet,” says narrator Keith David.

Previous Episode

Mark Twain

Season 1, Episode 7

January 14, 2002

Next Episode

Jazz: The True Welcome (1929-1935)

Season 1, Episode 9

January 15, 2001

Trending TonightSee all »