Ken Burns American Stories 2002 | TV Show Watchlist

Ken Burns American Stories

Cast & Crew  |  Episode Guide

A series of documentaries by Ken Burns, including 'The Statue of Liberty,' 'Brooklyn Bridge,' 'Thomas Jefferson' and episodes of 'Jazz' and 'Baseball.'

Premiered: October 6, 2002

Rating: None

User Rating:0 out of 5 (0 ratings)

Your Rating:

Season 2, Episode 10 The West: One Sky Above Us

First Aired: September 24, 1996

The Burns-produced 1996 history of the West concludes as the Wounded Knee massacre leads to the end of organized Native American resistance to Westward expansion, while “land rushes” divide most of the remaining Indian territory into new towns. Included: the Dawes Act, which disrupted Indian communities; the impact of a copper strike on Butte, Mont. Also: the death of Sitting Bull at the hands of his own people; belief in the “ghost dance,” which some hoped would restore Indians to prominence; the construction of the Los Angeles aqueduct system; and the popularity of Westerns, which misrepresented history. Stephen Ives (“Reporting America at War” directed. Peter Coyote narrates.

Previous Episode

The West: The Geography of Hope

Season 2, Episode 9

September 23, 1996

Next Episode

Lewis & Clark: The Journey of the Corps of Discovery

Season 2, Episode 1

November 4, 1997

Guest Cast