Ken Burns American Stories2002 | TV Show

Cast & Crew  |  Episode Guide

A series of documentaries by Ken Burns, including 'The Statue of Liberty,' 'Brooklyn Bridge,' 'Thomas Jefferson' and episodes of 'Jazz' and 'Baseball.'

Premiered: October 6, 2002

Rating: None

User Rating: (0 ratings)

Your Rating:

Season 1, Episode 10 Empire of the Air: The Men Who Made Radio

First Aired: January 29, 1992

“Empire of Air: The Men Who Made Radio” profiles radio pioneers Lee de Forest, Edwin Howard Armstrong and David Sarnoff. Radio excerpts and archival material are blended with interviews to chronicle Guglielmo Marconi's achievements in wireless telegraphy; the impact of De Forest's audion tube; Armstrong's “regeneration” circuit (which greatly amplified the audion's signals) and his creation of an FM system; and RCA pioneer Sarnoff's 1916 proposal to market “a radio music box.” It revolutionized broadcasting. Interviewed: sportscaster Red Barber, historians Erik Barnouw and Susan Douglas, writer-producer Norman Corwin. Jason Robards narrates.

Previous Episode

Jazz: The True Welcome (1929-1935)

Season 1, Episode 9

January 15, 2001

Next Episode

Thomas Hart Benton

Season 1, Episode 11

December 16, 2002

Trending TonightSee all »