American Experience 1988 | TV Show Watchlist

American Experience

Photos  |  Cast & Crew  |  Episode Guide  |  Video Clips

This much-honored PBS documentary series explores American history, one topic or person at a time. Its Peabody Award winners include profiles of FDR and Malcolm X, and such diverse topics as Nixon's 1972 trip to China, the controversy surrounding `Citizen (more…)

Premiered: October 4, 1988

Rating: TV-PG

User Rating:4.71 out of 5 (31 ratings)

Your Rating:

Season 22, Episode 3 The Bombing of Germany

First Aired: February 8, 2010

The evolution of America's bombing strategy against Germany during World War II, which went from the precision bombing of military and industrial targets at the war's start to indiscriminate attacks on civilian centers by its end, is chronicled. As historian Conrad Crane observes, though unethical, "the most unethical act in WWII for the Allies would have been allowing themselves to lose." The doc is punctuated by archival footage of aerial raids and bombing runs.

Watch Now

Guest Cast