American Experience 1988 | TV Show Watchlist

American Experience

Photos  |  Cast & Crew  |  Episode Guide  |  Video Clips

This much-honored PBS documentary series explores American history, one topic or person at a time. Its Peabody Award winners include profiles of FDR and Malcolm X, and such diverse topics as Nixon's 1972 trip to China, the controversy surrounding `Citizen (more…)

Premiered: October 4, 1988

Rating: TV-PG

User Rating:4.71 out of 5 (31 ratings)

Your Rating:

Season 16, Episode 2 Reconstruction: The Second Civil War

First Aired: January 12, 2004

“Reconstruction: The Second Civil War,” a two-part report, follows political leaders and ordinary Americans alike as it chronicles one of the most contentious periods in American history. “An old social order had been destroyed,” says Columbia University historian Eric Foner. “Everything was up for grabs.” Part 1 begins with the end of the war, as President Johnson, no friend of the freed slaves, squares off against Republicans in Congress. In 1868 they pass the 14th Amendment, which is “the origin of the concept of civil rights,” Foner notes. Johnson vetoed it and, says narrator Dion Graham, “the lines were drawn.”