American Experience 1988 | TV Show

Cast & Crew  |  Episode Guide

This much-honored PBS documentary series explores American history, one topic or person at a time. Its Peabody Award winners include profiles of FDR and Malcolm X, and such diverse topics as Nixon's 1972 trip to China, the controversy surrounding `Citizen (more…)

Premiered: October 4, 1988

Rating: TV-PG

User Rating:4.71 out of 5 (31 ratings)

Your Rating:

Season 2, Episode 11 Forbidden City, USA

First Aired: December 19, 1989

"Forbidden City, U.S.A.," a study of a nightclub of the '30s and '40s that featured all Chinese-American performers, who went against the tenets of their culture to go on-stage as singers and dancers. Host: David McCullough.

Previous Episode

Ballad of the Mountain Man

Season 2, Episode 10

December 12, 1989

Next Episode

Wildcatter: A Story of Texas Oil

Season 2, Episode 12

January 8, 1990

Trending TonightSee all »