American Experience 1988 | TV Show Watchlist

American Experience

Photos  |  Cast & Crew  |  Episode Guide  |  Video Clips

This much-honored PBS documentary series explores American history, one topic or person at a time. Its Peabody Award winners include profiles of FDR and Malcolm X, and such diverse topics as Nixon's 1972 trip to China, the controversy surrounding `Citizen (more…)

Premiered: October 4, 1988

Rating: TV-PG

User Rating:4.71 out of 5 (31 ratings)

Your Rating:

Season 23, Episode 1 Robert E. Lee

First Aired: January 3, 2011

The season premiere profiles Confederate general Robert E. Lee (1807-1870), a fascinating figure who turned down President Lincoln's request to lead the Union Army and, instead, became head of the rebel Army of Northern Virginia. The biography features excerpts from Lee's letters, including from his courtship of his wife Mary, as well as remarks from historians Peter S. Carmichael, Michael Fellman, Gary W. Gallagher, Joseph Glatthaar, Lesley J. Gordon, Elizabeth Brown Pryor and Emory Thomas.

Watch Now

Previous Episode

Into the Deep: America, Whaling & the World

Season 22, Episode 8

May 10, 2010

Next Episode

U.S. Grant: Warrior

Season 23, Episode 2

January 10, 2011