American Experience 1988 | TV Show Watchlist

American Experience

Photos  |  Cast & Crew  |  Episode Guide  |  Video Clips

This much-honored PBS documentary series explores American history, one topic or person at a time. Its Peabody Award winners include profiles of FDR and Malcolm X, and such diverse topics as Nixon's 1972 trip to China, the controversy surrounding `Citizen (more…)

Premiered: October 4, 1988

Rating: TV-PG

User Rating:4.71 out of 5 (31 ratings)

Your Rating:

Season 21, Episode 1 The Trials of J. Robert Oppenheimer

First Aired: January 26, 2009

The Season 21 premiere profiles scientist J. Robert Oppenheimer, who led America's development of the atomic bomb, spoke out against the H-bomb and, in 1953, had his security clearance revoked due to his association with communists during the 1930s. Included: reenactments starring David Strathairn; interviews with former colleagues; and insights from historian Martin Sherwin ("American Prometheus") and author Richard Rhodes ("The Making of the Atomic Bomb").

Watch Now

Previous Episode

George H. W. Bush

Season 20, Episode 10

May 6, 2008

Next Episode

The Polio Crusade

Season 21, Episode 2

February 2, 2009

Guest Cast

David Strathairn J. Robert Oppenheimer