American Experience 1988 | TV Show Watchlist

American Experience

Photos  |  Cast & Crew  |  Episode Guide  |  Video Clips

This much-honored PBS documentary series explores American history, one topic or person at a time. Its Peabody Award winners include profiles of FDR and Malcolm X, and such diverse topics as Nixon's 1972 trip to China, the controversy surrounding `Citizen (more…)

Premiered: October 4, 1988

Rating: TV-PG

User Rating:4.71 out of 5 (31 ratings)

Your Rating:

Season 20, Episode 1 Oswald's Ghost

First Aired: January 14, 2008

With "Oswald's Ghost," the 20th-season opener examines how "six seconds in Dallas" (the JFK assassination) changed America and fed myriad conspiracy theories. The documentary features cogent insights from Norman Mailer, historian Robert Dallek and Gary Hart, among others, as well as archival footage and material, including audio of a purported "witness" in New Orleans DA Jim Garrison's investigation. JFK-assassination researchers Edward Jay Epstein and Mark Lane are also interviewed.