Tina Fey in 30 Rock by Mitchell Haaseth/NBC Photo; Paul Giamatti in John Adams by Kent Eanes/HBO
HBO's John Adams won 13 awards at the 60th Primetime Emmy Awards, the most ever won by a program in a single year.

The story of America's second president dominated the election-year ceremony, winning Outstanding Miniseries, while stars Paul Giamatti, Laura Linney and Tom Wilkinson all brought home acting awards.

AMC's Mad Men won Outstanding Drama Series, becoming the first basic cable show in history to win for best series.

NBC's 30 Rock took home the Emmy for Outstanding Comedy Series for the second year in a row, with Alec Baldwin winning his first Emmy after seven nominations and Tina Fey taking home a statuette for writing, as well as her first for acting in a comedy series.

The biggest upsets of the nights were in the acting categories. Zeljko Ivanek ( Damages), Jean Smart ( Samantha Who?) and Bryan Cranston ( Breaking Bad) were all surprises in their respective categories.

The show was hosted by the five nominees for Outstanding Reality Host: Ryan Seacrest, Heidi Klum, Tom Bergeron, Jeff Probst and Howie Mandel. Probst took home the prize.

Before John Adams, Angels in America held the all-time record for single-year Emmy wins with 11 in 2004.

For photos and a full list of winners and nominees, check out our guide to the Emmys. - Erin Fox

" The Emmys: History New and Old
" TVGuide.com's Top Emmy Moments
" Emmy Fashion: Hits and Misses
" 2008 Emmy Red Carpet