Joseph Mazzello, Jesse Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield and Patrick Mapel in The Social Network

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association has chosen The Social Network as the year's best picture.

The movie, which chronicles the creation of Facebook and stars Jesse Eisenberg and Justin Timberlake, also was cited Sunday for the film's screenplay, written by Aaron Sorkin. David Fincher garnered an award for directing as well. Fincher tied with Olivier Assayas, who directed Carlos.

Check out the rest of today's news

Colin Firth (The King's Speech) and Kim Hye-Ja (Mother) took home top acting honors, while Jacki Weaver (Animal Kingdom) and Niels Arestrup (A Prophet) were awarded for supporting roles.

Check out the full list of winners:

Picture: The Social Network
Director: Olivier Assayas, Carlos; and David Fincher, The Social Network (a tie)
Actor: Colin Firth, The King's Speech
Actress: Kim Hye-Ja, Mother
Supporting Actor: Niels Arestrup, A Prophet
Supporting Actress: Jacki Weaver, Animal Kingdom
Animation: Toy Story 3
Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network
Music/Score: Alexandre Desplat, The Ghost Writer; and Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, The Social Network (a tie)
Production Design: Guy Hendrix Dyas, Inception
Cinematography: Matthew Libatique, Black Swan
Foreign Language Film: Carlos
Documentary/Nonfiction Film: Last Train Home
New Generation: Lena Dunham, Tiny Furniture
Douglas E. Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video: Jean-Luc Godard, Film Socialisme
Legacy of Cinema Awards:
Serge Bromberg for Henri-Georges Clouzot's Inferno, and the F.W. Murnau Foundation and Fernando Pena for the restoration of Metopolis
Career Achievement: Paul Mazursky