Jesse Tyler Ferguson

And the award for best tweeter at the 64th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards goes to ... Modern Family's Jesse Tyler Ferguson, who offered a play-by-play of the evening on his feed, starting with he and new fiancée Justin Mikita getting ready for the ceremony with their moms.

After arriving at the red carpet "WAY too early," Ferguson added a photo of him and co-star Eric Stonestreet captioned "you're going down." Unfortunately, he was wrong, as Stonestreet later bested him (and their other co-stars Ty Burrell and Ed O'Neill in the supporting actor in a comedy category).

But Ferguson was a good sport about the loss. Shortly after Stonestreet's win, he tweeted: "I DID win! Look at my prize!" alongside a picture of him and Mikita. Later, he added: "You deserve it! I'm so happy for your #Emmy win @ericstonestreet."

Ferguson wasn't the only Modern Family member who took to Twitter during the ceremony. Julie Bowen tweeted a good luck message to her co-star Sofia Vergara, whom she was up against in the supporting actor category. Bowen, who later prevailed, told her co-star, "You are crazy-talented and deserve some hardware!"

Here's a roundup of some of the other best tweets from the night:

Steven Amiri (@StevenAmiri, via WitStream): "Zooey Deschanel's date is a banjo."

Aziz Ansari (@azizansari): "I'm presenting an Emmy tonight. If you see a brown bearded man presenting an award tonight - rest assured - it is me & you're not racist."

Mayim Bialik (@missmayim): "#emmys forgot to bring a snack...kinda peckish...heels are off. Saw Tom Hanks. And Nicole Kidman. Wow!"

Lena Dunham (@lenadunham): "ps it's thrilling to be here!"

Billy Eichner (@BillyEichner, via WitStream): "Show's going great so far. REMEMBER WHEN AN OLD DEAD WOMAN LOST?"

Jimmy Fallon (@jimmyfallon): "Emmys tonight. Send good viiiiiibes. (that my tux fits.)"

Matt Goldich (@MattGoldich, via WitStream): "A speedy recovery to Maggie Smith who was hit by Amanda Bynes' car on the way to the Emmys. She is resting comfortably."

Andrew Goldstein (@angegold, via WitStream) "Nice of Costner to get out of his gig playing piano in hotel lobby to show up for the Emmys.

Josh Gondelman (@joshgondelman, via WitStream): "If Bryan Cranston wears the Heisenberg hat to the Emmys, it means he's trying to kill Jon Hamm."

Nolan Gould (@Nolan_Gould): "I'm 13, riding in a limo to my 3rd Emmy's!!! Amazing. Thanks Modern Family fans for making us a hit."

Tim Gunn (@timgunn): "We are the Susan Lucci of reality shows!" (after Project Runway lost to The Amazing Race in the reality competition series category)

Ashley Judd (@AshleyJudd): "My hair is so grand I am sitting on the floor of the car on our way to the #Emmys!"

Jimmy Kimmel (@jimmykimmel): "Ryan Seacrest is super fat in person. #emmys"

Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling): "The Emmys shall always falleth on the hottest day of the year, said Moses or God, or someone very high up"

Andy Levy (@AndyLevy, via WitStream): "Christina Hendricks' dress wins Best Supporting of an Actress"

Damon Lindelof (@DamonLindelof): "WHY IS NO ONE SPILLING ANYTHING ON SEACREST?!? WHATEVER HAPPENED TO TRADITION?!?!"

Julia Louis-Dreyfus (@officialjld): "Does anyone know any stores that r open on Sunday? Like right now? Near the Nokia Theater?#Emmys"

Aaron Paul (@aaronpaul_8): "Thank you everyone for the Emmy wishes! I am so lucky to have such incredible fans. Yeah bitch let's do this! Yeah Mr. White! Yeah Science!"

Retta (@unfoRETTAble): "Yay for Aaron Paul!!! I just got chills!!!!! I'm so happy for him. Everyone give a shout of "Yes bitch" in honor of Jesse."

Eric Stonestreet (@ericstonestreet): "Today I'm taking my best friend Paul to the Emmys. He dared me to audition for the first play I ever did at #kstate. #Emmys"